Alto Independent School District

Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment

Welcome to Curriculum and Assessment!
 
The State Board of Education (SBOE) has adopted the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for each subject of the required curriculum.  These state standards drive instruction and identify what students should know and be able to do at every grade and in every subject area.   
                                                                         
TEKS Link
                                                                                                                           
 2018 Testing Dates~Alto High School 
April 10 (Tues) End of Course STAAR English I
April 12 (Thurs) End of Course STAAR English II
May 8 (Tues) End of Course STAAR Algebra I
May 9 (Wed) End of Course STAAR Biology
May 10 (Thurs) End of Course STAAR US History
June 25 (Mon) End of Course STAAR English I retest
June 26 (Tues) End of Course STAAR Algebra I retest
June 27 (Wed) End of Course STAAR English II retest
June 28 (Thurs) End of Course
STAAR Biology retest
STAAR US History retest
 
2018 Testing Dates~Grades 3-8
April 10 (Tues)
Grades 4, 7
Grades 5, 8
STAAR Writing
STAAR Mathematics
April 11 (Wed) Grades 5, 8 STAAR Reading
May 14 (Mon)
Grades 3, 4
Grades 6, 7
Grades 5, 8
STAAR Mathematics
STAAR Mathematics
STAAR Mathematics retest
May 15 (Tues)
Grades 3, 4
Grades 6, 7
Grades 5, 8
STAAR Reading
STAAR Reading
STAAR Reading retest
May 16 (Wed) Grades 5, 8 STAAR Science
May 17 (Thurs) Grade 8 Social Studies
June 26 (Tues) Grades 5, 8 STAAR Math retest
June 27 (Wed) Grades 5, 8 STAAR Reading retest
                                                  The New STAAR Report Card
The Texas Education Agency publishes STAAR report cards for all students every year. These STAAR report cards are often referred to as Confidential Student Reports (CSR). To improve communication and transparency with educators and families, TEA has conducted an overhaul of the STAAR report card. The goal of the redesign is to create a family-friendly report on student progress, specifically highlighting growth and improvement as much as proficiency, while giving parents concrete tools to help with student learning.CSR
                   
Paula Low
District Testing Coordinator
Office: High School Room 18
Phone: 936-858-7141
 
 
                                                        

The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program includes annual assessments for:

  • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
  • writing at grades 4 and 7
  • science at grades 5 and 8
  • social studies at grade 8
  • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, biology and U.S history.