Special Education

Co-Op Staff

Special Education Cooperative Staff

Donna Tugwell, Director

Raegan Moatassem, Secretary

Jennifer Eckel
Molly Strube
Keri Burton
Tonya Tropp
Kymberly Tubbe

Stephanie Wick

Special Education Counselor
Elizabeth Frisby

Heidi Newman

Speech Therapists
Necia Little
Erin Hughes
Angella Newsom
Diena Kaser
Madison Crager

Transition Specialist
Keri Burton

Alto ISD District Translator
Sandie Pierce

The Special Education Information Center (SPEDTex) provides resources and interactive features for increasing family awareness of disabilities and special education processes, with the goal of improving partnerships between schools and families.

Contact information:

Phone: 1-855-773-3839

Email: inquire@spedtex.org

Live Chat: www.spedtex.org


Cherokee County Special Education SSA

203 East 7th Street

Rusk, Texas 75785

Phone: 903-683-4466

Fax: 903-683-2104


Fiscal Agent: Rusk ISD

Member Districts:

Alto ISD, Rusk ISD,

New Summerfield ISD, and Wells ISD

Updates in Special Education (SB 139)

Alto ISD, member district of the Cherokee County Special Education SSA, is in the process of planning the federal programs and writing the consolidated federal grant for the school year 2022-2023.  Services through some or all federal programs may be available for your private school if eligibility requirements are met.  Private schools that receive these services must comply with all requisite federal policies and procedures.

In order to fulfill these responsibilities, I would like to invite you to a consultation meeting to be held at 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 3, 2022 at the Rusk ISD Administrative Building.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Donna Tugwell, Special Education Director, at 903-683-4466.